One of the best parts about working is that, unlike when I was in school, my evenings and weekends are entirely my own. No looming exams to worry about, no anxiety over work that I should be doing instead of watching sports or playing games. It’s really nice to be able to come home and not feel guilty about relaxing all evening.

Or at least it was.

But now the bar exams are looming, and so after I finish up work for the day I’m forced to put in another lengthy shift in for studying. The result is that from the moment I wake up until the moment I go to sleep, I’ve got obligations on my mind. It’s particularly exhausting given the instability of my work environment at the moment, and it’s not something I can maintain in the long run. If any of this sounds familiar, it’s because I felt pretty much the same way applying for jobs last summer.

Fortunately, just like last summer, this unsustainable situation isn’t a permanent state of affairs. November 23rd is just over three weeks away at this point, and when dawn rises on that day the bar exams will be in the rear view mirror (assuming I pass).

Until then, I’m in survival mode.

