A few blogs ago I’d mentioned that I’d be jumping back into language study to help keep me occupied while I’m here in Kingston.

The question was, which one?

And really, there was only ever one choice.

Yes, French would have been the most practical option. Yes, Italian would have put me in touch with my heritage. Yes, I could have started along a new path and pursued German, having been in that country just a month ago.

But it was always going to be Japanese.

There’s just no other language course – or any other course, period – that I’ve been as excited to take as I was to take Japanese in my final year of undergrad. And when I dropped Japanese halfway through the year due to the heavy workload I was facing, it was with every intention of returning to the language at some point.

Well, it’s some point.

I don’t know exactly how I’m going to do this. The first step is going to be to re-learn hiragana and katakana. I can do that easily enough on my own for free. From there, I’m looking at perhaps using WaniKani (lit. “AlligatorCrab”), which seems to be a good way to learn the kanji which stumped me so badly last time around. I’d have to pay for it after a month or so, but I suspect the price would prove worth it.

I’m somewhat limited in terms of actual classes here in Kingston given that I work full time, but there are plenty of other options. I could find a tutor. I could join an online language exchange group. I could plow through my old textbooks on my own. I could ask my sole Japanese friend for help.

I’m excited to do this, I really am. It’s been a long time since I was this excited about anything. Whether I’ll be able to maintain this enthusiasm as the weeks and months go on remains to be seen.

But for now, がんばって!

I think. Heh.

