With 8 days to go until articling commences, it’s very easy for me to get stuck on all of the things that I’m not looking forward to about the next year of my life.

Rather than focus on all of that here, let’s think positively for a moment. What am I looking forward to?

Perhaps it’s a little sad, but getting paid for my time is the first thing that comes to mind. The last three years have seen my bank accounts move in one general direction, and it’ll be nice to see that trend reversed.

I’m looking forward to having relaxing evenings. Even though the 45 hours per week I’ll have to put in at work far exceeds the hours of class I’ve ever had per week, those hours won’t spill into my evenings and weekends as school always has. No more essays to stress over, no more exams to study for (other than the bars in November).

Looking forward to curling season. Granted, it’s not until October, but it’s something I missed out on this year. It’ll be a good way to fill a winter evening every week.

In the more immediate future, I’m looking forward to seeing some friends again. A lot of them are studying for the June bars in Kingston, so they’ll be in town for a month or so.

As for the work itself, I’m looking forward to seeing just how far I’ve come in terms of being able to handle family law cases. Though my job will largely be criminal law, family is the area I’m most confident in and ultimately it’s the area that I’d like to try and make a career out of.

And ultimately, I’m looking forward to articling being over. Despite all these positives, it’s not going to be an easy stretch for me. But I’ll get through it, and once I do I’ve got plenty of options that I can pursue.

If nothing else, I’ll  have some war stories to tell next April, right?

