I think one of the things I’ve lost in the last 3-5 years is my ability to see beauty in the little things. It used to be that I’d look with wonder and amazement at things which most people would find inconsequential, and now I mostly just shrug.

My university experience is probably to blame here. In the last seven years I’ve come across a lot of people who think that a lot of different things are Really Really Important. Grades, paries, student council elections, sports, protest movements, sex, clubs,  drinking establishments, fraternities… and on and on.

Rightly or wrongly, my response was to dismiss it all. I came to see nothing as important. I’m not sure that’s the right way to go about things anymore though.

The first step I’m going to take toward remedying this situation is to dive back into studying languages. I’ve always found beauty in the subtleties of how languages operate, and having been out of that loop for three years, I think getting back into it would be good for me.

I’m not sure to what extent I’ll just dive in. I might just purchase a self-study guide of some sort, or I might go all out and take a language course. One way or another, this will be one thing I do to help me get through the next year.

