The last exam of my last year of university carries with it about the same weight as the last exam of my first year of university. That is to say, none.

Back then, the lack of pressure was caused by my decision to transfer out of Queen’s. I knew that my transferred credits wouldn’t carry their marks with them, so there was absolutely no difference between passing with a 60 and passing with a 99. Since I’d done reasonably well on my coursework and the exam was only worth 30%, even a zero on the exam would still have left me with a passing grade.

Today, I sit here confident in the knowledge that I’ve secured 62 upper year credits. I need only 59 to graduate. That renders tomorrow’s exam, worth three credits, moot. Even if I have an abysmal showing and somehow fail the course, I’m golden. Barring an asteroid hitting me between now and my graduation in June, I’m going to get this degree.

I’m not someone who works well under extreme pressure, but I’m also not someone who works well with no pressure whatsoever. My preparation has been somewhat lacking for this exam, and I may be in for a bit of a shock in the morning.

One way or another, it’s all over at 5:00.

