It’s been a whirlwind of a week.

It started with the realization that the last firm I had applied to wasn’t going to get back to me in time, and that I wouldn’t be able so escape Kingston as I had hoped.

Then another firm posted an advert, promising a quick decision on hiring. I checked the firm’s website: family and criminal law. Located in Greektown. Excellent. I fired off a quick application.

Within 8 hours I heard back – the employer wanted to have a chat. Fantastic.

The call went well right up to the end. He struck me as a very laid back man. Casual, but not unprofessional. The hours would be 9-5 with rare exceptions when emergencies come up. Great. The work would be 75% family law and 25% criminal. Awesome.

Pay would be $560 per week.

Goddammit.

Look, money isn’t the only thing that matters, and that amount would still be the most I’ve ever made. But it’s not enough to be able to live comfortably in Toronto.  Rent alone would wipe half of my paycheque out, and then factoring in utilities, bills, and groceries, we’re looking at a real tight squeeze. Would I take less money to be able to live and work in Toronto? Absolutely. But it has to be enough to allow me to live without having to worry about running out of money and having to ask for a parental bail-out.

So now we’re back to square one. Unless something happens in the next 24 hours, I’m stuck in Kingston until Spring 2017.

