I’m hitting a point in my job hunt where frustration is starting to give way to apathy.

Not that I don’t care whether or not I end up with a job at the end of all this. I still care very much about that.

It’s just getting harder and harder to care about the process.

Since the end of August, the opportunities have been few and far between. Most weeks I don’t submit even a single application because there’s just nothing out there to apply for.

As for the applications I’ve sent out, I feel like I’ve just wasted my time on them. Not a single response from any of them, not even a “thank you, your application has been received”. My attempts to follow up have been met with equal silence. It’s all starting to feel a bit futile, like I’m trying to move a mountain by handing it my CV.

I’ve do have one lead, however. On Friday I’ve got an interview.

It’s not a job interview, mind. There’s no position open with this employer. The hope is that the interviewer will be mildly impressed by me and recommend me to people she knows who will be hiring in the near future, potentially giving me an advantage somewhere down the line. Maybe.

It’s not a great lead, but it’s all I’ve got right now. Looking at the job board, it’s all I’m going to have for the foreseeable future, so I suppose I’d better make it count.

