I’m not going to lie, it’s been a bit of a struggle lately. But I’m trying to focus on the positives because there are undoubtedly positives out there, difficult as they may be for me to see at times.

I think you need to have something to look forward to in life. It could be something happening in a week, or a fortnight, or a month, but you’ve got to have something. Otherwise you’re just spinning your wheels, and that’s no fun.

Like a lot of people, right now I’m looking forward to Fridays. Along with all the usual reasons why people look forward to Fridays, I’ve got some special reasons for looking forward to the next three Fridays in particular.

Next Friday, July 3rd, the applications for articling positions will be due. And while that’s a stressful deadline, it also means that after that date I won’t have to continue pumping out cover letters at a ridiculous clip, and that will be a huge relief.

The following Friday, July 10th, I’ve got a long-term investment coming due that will inject my bank account with a significant amount of cash. So that’s pleasant.

And on Friday July 17th it’s Call Day. An incredibly stressful morning regardless of how well (or poorly) it goes, but at least I’ll have a modicum of clarity about my near future after that date.

So yes, there are positives out there. Staying focused on them is easier said than done at times, but that’s life.

