The biggest difference between my first tour of duty at Queen’s and the presence isn’t the frequency with which I make the 250 kilometre journey back home; it’s my desire to go home in the first place.

Way back when, going home was all I ever thought about. My time in Kingston was spent killing time until the next time I could take a bus or a train to Toronto. I even had a little countdown timer on my computer marking down the days, hours, minutes, and seconds.

Now, not so much. In fact, going home has become more of a chore than anything recently. It doesn’t take much analysis to figure out why.

First off, my friends in Woodbridge have all but disappeared. Back in 2009 I never had enough time to see everyone that I wanted to see. But now some of them have moved away, some of them work 12 hour shifts, and some have just become giant douchebags. So, more often than not I spend the entire time with my family.

And that’s the other problem: spending time with my family just isn’t as much fun as it used to be. And I should clarify – spending time with my extended family remains just as enjoyable as ever. The grandparents and aunts and uncles and cousins are all still a lot of fun to be around. It’s my immediate family that’s the issue.

My parents mean well, but all they want to talk about at home is law. About law school, about legally-relevant jobs, about lawyers they’ve spoken to. The thing is, my full time occupation at present is as a law student, and as such I’m required to spend 10 hours per day thinking about law already. I enjoy studying law as much as anyone, but sometimes I need a break from it. And when I go home for what I feel is a well-deserved break, law is the last thing I want to think about. But I can’t escape it. They won’t let me escape it.

And so now, even when I’m at home I try to avoid conversing with my parents about anything even remotely related to school, lest they make a segue. Sometimes that means avoiding conversation altogether. It’s a little bit sad, but that’s where we stand at present.

Funny how things change though, isn’t it?

