I just had to dig didn’t I?

I looked on Linkedin because after Facebook it’s the biggest social networking tool on the planet (sorry twitter), and I looked for every Johnny on earth with the same last name. I found 11, but only one from the UK. “Huddersfield”. So I gave it a shot.

I didn’t think I had the right guy at first, as his current employment was listed as some engineering gig, but as I scrolled down I saw a few things related to air transport, and then I saw the blurb indicating that he had attending pilot’s school for nearly two years before a spinal bleed rendered him a permanent paraplegic.

And that’s that. Fuck.

It’s really hard to offer any commentary on this other than that one expletive because I have no idea what his emotional state is. It’s been over three and a half years. He’s probably accepted things as they are by now. Or maybe he’s angry at the world. Maybe he spends a lot of time wondering what could have been. I just have no idea.

On the bright side, he’s now pursuing a Masters at City University in London in Air Safety. Good on him for continuing to follow his dreams however he can. I just wish this story had a more satisfying ending to it. I’d like to talk to him, but what are the odds he’d even remember me. Even if he did, what would I say? “Hey, we vacationed together 5.5 years ago. Sorry to hear about what happened. How’s life?”

Blah. Well that was a fine two hour break. Back to studying for an exam that counts for a whopping 0% of my grade.

