Making new friends is such a lovely feeling isn’t it?

When you first meet someone cool, you just hope that he/she will remember your name the next time you see them. But then slowly, imperceptibly you grow closer together. You start sharing your secrets. You start being privy to inside jokes. You make new memories together. It’s fun, it’s fresh, it’s exciting.

I wish I made new friends more easily, or more often. I love learning about new people, you see. People are interesting once you get to know them better. Did you know that the quiet girl in the corner is actually an incredible painter? Did you know that the slick-looking guy on the fencing piste is a talented dancer as well?

That girl is a former gymnist. That guy’s great at website design. That one’s secretly a huge nerd.

And on and on. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I’ve never met a boring person before in my life, and I doubt I ever will. I challenge you to befriend the most boring person you know and really get to know them. They’ll surprise you, I guarantee it. The only reason we perceive other people as boring is because we don’t know them well enough. People may be ignorant, stupid, or ill-mannered, but they’re certainly not boring.

 

I digress. The point being that I’m continuously fascinated by all of the little things you learn about new friends.

More important than the little things though are the Big Things. The Deep Dark Secrets. The Quiet Things That No One Ever Knows. When someone lets you in on one of these, that’s how you know you’re in. When someone first decides to take down their walls and let you in, it’s almost magical. It’s a moment that I never take for granted because I feel that it’s the moment when a friendship is solidified.

That’s not to say that friends have to share their close secrets with each other. Some of my old friends have never truly let me in, and I still consider them to be very good friends. But when someone lets you in on a secret that only a small handful of people know and trusts you with it, it’s special.

 

Now, allow me a moment of vanity.

It’s no secret that I love to talk about myself. I’ve done it nearly 600 times here, and many thousands of times outside of the Internet. I have innumerable stories about my life, ranging from my most glorious triumphs to my most embarrassing defeats.

I think my favourite thing about new friends is that they make all of my old stories new again. All of my old friends have already heard The Tale of the Infamous Woman, and That Time I Punched That Guy In The Face. They’ve been hashed and rehashed a thousand times, and they’re old hat to my old friends. But to my new friends, they’re fresh and exciting. I’ll never get more than a friendly smile and a nod from an old friend when I tell them how I ruled the playground with an iron fist in grade three with my Pokemon, but when I tell a new friend that story I might get a full out laugh. And that makes me oh so happy. Maybe it’s shallow, but I can’t help it.

None of this is to suggest that I see old friends as somehow inferior to new friends. That’s not the case at all. There’s that beautiful familiarity with old friends that no new friendship can possibly capture. That indescribable comfort.

But there’s an undeniable excitement with making new friends that’s unlike anything else in the world.

