Every time I go overseas I get a little nervous. I’m not sure why. It’s not like I have any reason to be. It’s always a great time when I’m over there, and the only part that really sucks is leaving.

I think I always worry that maybe this time will be different. Maybe this time things will be awkward, or won’t work out for whatever reason. It’s a completely unfounded fear, but it still exists.

This time is a little different though. When I get back I’m going to have to make a very important decision about my future within a week or two – a decision which will impact almost all areas of my life. My academic career, my future job prospects, my current relationship… all of these will inevitably be affected. No pressure, right?

But although this is going to no doubt be in the back of my mind, the best thing I can do is enjoy the ride and not let it get to me. Not yet, anyhow.

