With U of T’s rejection firmly in hand, I’ve had to think long and hard about what my #2 choice is. And crazy as it sounds, I think I’m leaning towards a return to Queen’s.

I sort of realized this during a conversation with my girlfriend where I quickly listed the positives and negatives associated with Queen’s, Western, and Osgoode. And I didn’t realize it at the time, but thinking back the only negative thing I had to say about Queen’s is that things didn’t go well the first time. But I said I loved the city of Kingston, I liked the school itself, there were plenty of opportunities for extra-curriculars (I could fence again!) and I liked the program at Queen’s – it’s got a really good ADR (mediation) program, which is the area of law I’d like to get into.

Two years ago I’d have called you nuts if you told me I’d be considering going back to Queen’s, but here I am.

Of course, this is just what I’m thinking at the moment. My thought process could very easily change. I haven’t even visited Durham or Western yet (or Ottawa, for that matter), and so I don’t want to make any final decisions until I do that.

And of course, there is the fact that I don’t actually have an offer from Queen’s yet, and I’m far from guaranteed to hear positive news from them. For that reason I don’t want to get too far ahead of myself, lest I be disappointed.

