When you come to the end of a video game, you’ll almost always encounter a Final Boss of some sort. Maybe it’s a dragon with two (or three) heads. Maybe it’s the asteroid that wiped out the dinosaurs. Maybe it’s just this guy. But in any case, you expect that whatever is waiting for you at the end of the game is the most difficult challenge you’ve ever had to face.

In my head, I sort of expected university to be the same. After conquering four years of undergrad, I fully expected to find myself face to face with the mother of all evaluations. Perhaps a grueling exam worth 100% of a course, or a 50 page paper waiting to crush my soul.

But no. It’s nothing of the sort. I have two essays due on April 6th totalling 4500 words, and after that an exam every Wednesday until the 24th. And that’s it. Almost anti-climactic, I feel.

I’m not complaining or anything. It just feels like my undergraduate career is ending with a fizzle instead of a bang. Nothing worse than a disappointing Final Boss, you know?

 

Okay, maybe you don’t know. But trust me.

