No less than five people have asked me “How did it go?” today. It’s a fair question to ask someone who has just written The Mother of All Entrance Exams.

Truth be told, I don’t know how I did. And part of me doesn’t want to talk about it. But another part of me knows that I have to, just a little bit, if only to vent. Theoretically I’ve signed a waiver declaring that I won’t discuss questions on the exam until the results are published, but somehow I suspect that the Powers That Be won’t be searching an obscure blog on the edge of the Internet for violations.

…But since the LSAT overlords have proven to be exceptionally thorough thus far, I’ll hedge my bets by just talking in generalities.

Anyhoo. Wrote this thing at Humber College this time around. Humber is an interesting beast in that most of the campus’ buildings are connected via a system of tunnels. At first I thought “That’s a little lame – you’d just be inside all the time.” And then I remembered that the windchill was -12, and I realized what a great idea this was.

As for the test itself, it started out well. The first section was Logic Games – traditionally my weakest section. Generally if I can just make it through 3/4 of this section without running out of time, I’ve done well. And in the end, I managed to get to all but three of the 25 or so questions before I ran out of time and had to make uneducated guesses on the rest. So, not bad there.

Then came Analytical Reasoning – traditionally my strongest section. But this was also the section that I fucked up on the first LSAT, so my usual confidence was knocked down a peg going in. And I didn’t feel overly good about it in the end.

The third section was Reading Comprehension. And although I felt good about this section after I finished it, I have good reason to suspect that this was the Mindfuck Section – i.e. the section that the cruel Powers That Be put on this test just to screw with you. Your mark for this section isn’t recorded. Section 4 was also a Reading Comprehension section, and since only one Reading Comprehension section is ever marked, one of these two had to be the Mindfuck. I suspect it was #3 just because the Mindfuck Section is almost always one of the first three sections, based on LSAT history.

It’s a shame, because I didn’t feel as confident about section 4 as I had about section 3. I didn’t quite get to the end of it either, and had to guess a few.

The final section was more Analytical Reasoning. And again, I didn’t feel as dominant here as I usually do. The last five or so questions were exceptionally difficult, and I ended up being forced to make wild guesses on three of them due to time constraints.

Looking at the math, I needed to make 20 errors or less in order to improve my score. I randomly guessed about 10 questions on this test. Statistically, I had a 1/5 chance of getting each of these right, so let’s assume I got two right. That leaves 8 errors right there, giving me only 12 to spare for the rest of the test.

So, I don’t know. It’s possible, I suppose, but I wouldn’t bank on it. Either way, I’m not going to worry about it now. I won’t get my marks until January 4th, and between now and then I’ll have plenty of other things to keep my mind occupied.

Christmas in 24 days!

