The last blog was titled “The Calm” because I fully expected to come back the next day and write one called “The Storm”

Get it?

But no, instead of the storm, it’s partly cloudy with a chance of afternoon showers.

162 was the number I saw when the results finally went up 32 hours after they were initially scheduled to.

In the aftermath, a lot of people congratulated me on my result. And why not? 162 is a great score.

But despite that, I wasn’t happy. And there are a few reasons for that.

First off, 162 isn’t going to get me into U of T. No way. Sure, it’ll give me a good shot at just about everywhere else in Ontario, but it doesn’t give me a snowball’s chance in hell at U of T. And like I’ve said all along, getting into U of T is my goal. It’s a lofty goal, but it’s my goal. And if I set a goal for myself and fail to reach it, regardless of how ambitious that goal was, I’m not going to be happy.

Second, I know I can do better. Having received the results of the test, I can see that I made a total of 21 errors. Of those errors, 17 were concentrated in two sections. In the other two sections of the test I only made four errors. But what really annoys me is that I screwed the pooch on what is ordinarily my strongest section. If I had performed up to my usual standards in that sections, I’d be looking at about a 168.

Third, it means I have to write this bastard again in 12 days. And with all the massive essays I’m having to tackle at the same time, I have better ways to spend my time than taking a four hour test. Realistically, I’m not going to be able to prepare at all for this one because I’ll be otherwise occupied. With that said, maybe that’s a good thing in a way – I won’t have time to stress out over it.

It’s not like I’m pissed off about my score or anything. I’m not. But I’m not doing cartwheels around this apartment either. I’ll just have to slay this bitch once and for all on December 1st.

