So, the first two days of my final year of undergrad are in the books. Thus far, it’s been pretty great. Over these past two days, I’ve had seven hours of class, of which a staggering ZERO have been related to history and politics. I’ve had two hours of Japanese, two hours of Welsh, two hours of Turkish, and one hour of astronomy. It’s been refreshing studying subject matter that doesn’t involve the thoughts, actions, and philosophies of dead white men.

I had a simple plan going into this week. Rather than decide which of those three languages I want to take, I’d sit in on all three and then make my decision. Smart, right?

Well, maybe not.

See, having experienced all three of these languages, I’ve found that I enjoy all of them, and I don’t want to give any of them up.

Japanese was my initial preference, and it’s the language that I’ve most wanted to learn, but the other two have their own charms. My Welsh professor is a lovely woman with a brilliant sense of humour. And my Turkish professor, while more serious, evidently loves his job and the language he teaches.

I enjoy learning languages too much, that’s the problem. Give me a taste of any given language, and I’ll want more. If I could, I’d take all three of these courses. But I can’t, so I’m going to have to make a decision by the weekend.

