A few weeks ago I posted a story about being six years old, and having a jerk make fun of my Father’s Day present.

That blog was not supposed to have a happy ending. It was supposed to end on a sour note, causing you to lose all faith in humanity.

For whatever reason, when I got around to writing out the conclusion, I thought of a way to make it end on a positive note, and I decided to go in that direction instead.

The result was utter garbage, and for this, I am truly sorry.

This is how The Tie-Dye Dog was supposed to end:

***

The world functions on a truth-by-democracy basis. No one is ever objectively right about anything. It’s all about perception. It doesn’t matter how brilliant you are, or how “right” you know you are. If people who are more powerful than you think that you’re wrong, then you’re wrong. If they think that you’re crazy, then you’re crazy. If they think that you’re a loser, then you’re a loser.

That’s just the way it is.

