Let me tell you, if there was any justice in this world, that last blog would have been nominated for multiple awards and been featured on the evening news for a week. Easily my most brilliant blog ever. Ah well.

 

Today I’m going to write a blog about unfriending, or  defriending, or whatever you call the process of removing friends on Facebook.

An increasing number of people have taken to “trimming the fat” on their friends list and deleting people who they are no longer in contact with. This seems to make sense. After all, who cares if that person you went to elementary school with 10 years ago had bad acid reflux last night?

Well… I do, for one. And I feel as though this unfriending trend undermines what social networking is supposed to be about in the first place.

For me, Facebook isn’t a place to keep in contact with my close friends. You know what I use for that? It’s called real life. Here’s how it works: If I want to know what my buddy Adam is up to, I walk across the hallway to his room, and knock on his door. If I’m in Woodbridge and I’m curious about what Nick is up to, I walk around the block to his house. I don’t need Facebook to see what Adam and Nick are up to – I can just ask them.

Now, what about those people who I haven’t spoken to in months, or years? What about those good friends I once had who drifted away over time? What about that person I met on vacation that one year? With these people, you can’t just ask what they’re up to. It’s awkward, right? But Facebook allows you to keep up with their lives all the same.

Surely I’m not the only one who sometimes wonders what long lost friends and acquaintances are up to. And if you’re anything like me, what do you do? You look them up on Facebook, of course!

That, for me, is what Facebook (and social networking as a whole) is about. Not the people you know well, but the people you don’t know anymore. Personally I’ve never unfriended anyone, and I don’t have any intention to ever do so.

