Well, that’s what I get for feeling invincible, I guess.

My outlook for the next year is looking slightly less sunny after the events of the last few days.

First, I received an email from Chestnut, effectively saying “Whoops, we fucked up. As a result you have a choice between downgrading your room size or keeping the same room size but moving to a graduate floor.” It’s very annoying when someone gives you a choice between two unappealing options, isn’t it?

This one bites, as I was really looking forward to having the same room again. Not because I need a big room to survive. Just for the familiarity more than anything. I was looking forward to feeling like I was back home at school next year, that’s all.

“But you could still have the big room if you wanted!” You might say. “They’ve given you the option!”

Yeah, but not really. I learned from last year that the people on your floor are more important than anything else. Graduates are not good people to have as floormates. They’re law students, med students,  masters students, and PhD students. In other words, people that will have a lot of work, and hence, not a lot of time for things that aren’t work. Plus they’ll all be about four years older than me. Effectively, it’s like your mother saying “You could have this cheesecake that you love, but I’ve made it with sawdust this time.” No thanks.

So, I’ll be in a smaller room next year. To try to salvage my position, I’ve requested that at the very least they place me on the same floor as some of my old compatriots. I feel like I’ve earned this small favour, having willingly (albeit begrudgingly) downgraded my room, but we’ll see if the Powers That Be feel the same way.

Then, during course selection, I discovered that my Plan A (International Law) and Plan B (Canadian Foreign Policy) courses were already full, so I had to go to plan C (Canadian Federalism).

This is somewhat annoying, since I had an excellent start time this year, well ahead of most of my friends, and yet courses were still already full by the time I was allowedt to select them. This means that my third year courses were poached by 4th year students, the bastards.

(I call them bastards now, but I’ll surely be doing the same thing a year from now).

The silver lining here is that my schedule now works out perfectly, with no useless one hour or two hour gaps between classes. I have classes from 10-2 on Monday, 2-4 on Wednesday (switching to 10-12 in second term), and 2-6 on Thursday, with Tuesdays and Fridays off. I still have two hours left to book, so I’ll try to book those for around 11-1 on Tuesday if possible, since a three day school week would make me too lazy. Assuming all goes well, I’ll only have 1.5 early classes this year. And 10 AM really isn’t all that bad.

So yeah, while neither of these inconveniences mark the end of the world as we know it, when life is going well I’m always wary of the first signs that Fortune has switched allegiances.

