Life is a mixed bag at the moment.

On the one hand, I’m going through a bit of post roadtrip withdrawal. Life was so full of things to do and places to see during those three weeks that life now seems so dull and boring in comparison.

On the other hand, the future looks bright as well. I’ve just received confirmation (albeit a month later than I expected to) that I’m going to be allowed to return to my residence for next year. Not only that, but I’ve been offered the super awesome room once again. Unlike the Queen’s lottery system, which sought to screw me over at every possible opportunity, the U of T lottery system seems to like me. Only 14 out of 94 new upper year students received awesome rooms last year, and I was one of the lucky ones then. This year I’ve been even more lucky, as only 15 out of 211 returning students received awesome rooms. Hurrah for good fortune.

Unfortunately though, I can’t imagine that next year will top last year in terms of sheer mind blowing awesomeness. Floor 12 was one of those once-in-a-lifetime deals, and there will be several irreplaceable figures missing next year.

Fortunately, at least those of us who remain will all be in the same building together, if not the same floor. I’ve requested to be on Floor 12 again, but there’s no way of knowing whether or not that will actually happen. Nonetheless, now that I’m in, the worst case scenario is that I’ll have to climb a few sets of stairs or ride an elevator for a few floors in order to see my friends. It could be much worse.

Unfortunately, I’m getting sick. That sucks.

But I might be going to Aruba, Wasaga, and possibly even Spain before the summer ends. For those of you keeping track, that would make a total of four trips this summer if all three were to transpire. Good times.

In hockey news, the Canucks have looked somewhat dominant, so that sucks…

…But the Winnipeg Jets look to be making their return to the NHL for next year, so that rocks.

Sadly, my marks have come in, and across the board they’re all lower than what I had at Queen’s.

But, looking at class averages, I am somewhat relieved to find that I was above average in all of my courses. I feel much better about my mid 70s knowing that the averages for all but one of my courses hovered around 67.

I could go on, but I won’t. Like I said, it’s all a mixed bag. The next few weeks will be pretty key for setting the tone for the rest of Summer ’11. Hopefully the world doesn’t come to an end tomorrow so that I can see how it all pans out.

