Hello again.

I know it’s been a while since I’ve come here to speak to you. Please forgive me. It’s not that I’ve forgotten you or lost interest, it’s just that I’ve been really busy.

When last we spoke, I expressed a strong desire to return to the world of the living. Being dead has certain advantages, but I would trade all of it away in an instant for my earthly life.

Immediately after leaving you, I set out to find a solution to this problem.

At first I thought about perhaps using my powers of creation to send messages to people on earth. I could spell out a message with stones, or etch something into the walls. In theory I could just create a piece of paper with a message on it, but I feel like that the recipient of such a message would be likely to interpret it as a cruel joke as opposed to a genuine message from myself.

At any rate, I disposed of this idea because my goal is not to simply communicate with people on earth. It is to become part of their lives again. Simply establishing a means of communication is not enough.

After this, I considered possessing another individual and using them to communicate on my behalf. I rejected this idea as well for a few reasons. Possession is a tricky thing, you see. It’s not as simple as television and movies would have you believe. In order to possess someone, you need to displace their consciousness – for simplicity’s sake, let’s call this consciousness a "soul" – with your own. Effectively, I would need to forcibly evict someone else’s soul from their body. Obviously a soul isn’t going to just abandon its body without a fight, and so there’s some risk involved with that process.

What happens afterward to an evicted soul is a mystery. In theory, that person would become what I am now: a soul without a body. In practice, that may or may not be the case. My soul was not forcibly evicted from my body. My soul escaped naturally after death. It is entirely possible that forcibly removing a soul from its body could kill the soul. Furthermore, I don’t know whether or not I’d be able to leave the possessed person’s body at will. Before death I did not have the ability to leave my body at will, and I have no evidence to suggest that death has given me this ability.

That’s all very technical. Basically, possession carries far too many risks to be a viable option at the moment. But all of my thoughts on possession sparked a third idea, and it is this idea that I believe is my best option for the moment.

Along the same lines as possession, it involves placing myself into a human body. But rather than place myself into a body that is already inhabited by a soul, I would place myself into a soulless body instead. And where would I find a soulless body? Well, I’d have to create one. You might ask why I wouldn’t just use one of the many lifeless bodies located about six feet below the earth. Well, the thing about corpses is that they’re corpses for a reason. Strong, young, healthy people don’t just drop dead. People die because their bodies have failed them in some way. As such, creating my own body is the only way to go.

This idea removes many of the risks of possession. There’s no chance of inadvertently destroying anyone else’s soul, and there’s no chance of losing my own soul to another soul resisting my efforts to possess its body.

The one problem with this idea is that it’s permanent. As I said earlier, I don’t know whether or not I can leave a body at will, but even if I can, it doesn’t matter. With possession, there’s another soul to take over the body once I leave. If it’s a body that I’ve created, however, leaving it would leave behind an empty shell. And while I would know that it’s only an empty shell, it would be viewed as a murder by the rest of the world. The chaos and confusion that would ensue are things that I would like to avoid at all costs.

So, if I go back, I will be unable to return to this state of being for many years, until a natural death frees me from my created body.

I’m not ready to make a decision yet, but I will need to think about this long and hard over the coming weeks. It is wonderful to have found a way to reclaim my earthly existence, and yet it is difficult to commit what may well end up being three-quarters of a century to it. I hope that you’ll be there for me to help me decide.

Yours Truly,
Noah

