When I was about six or seven years old, I went to this sports-oriented day camp in the summer. On the first day of camp, I was approached by a boy my age.

"Hi," he said. "Do you want to be friends?"

"How can we be friends if I don’t even know if I like you?" was my response. Or words to that effect.

He blinked, and repeated himself. "Do you want to be friends?"

"We’ll see," I said. "I’ll let you know once I know you better."

And he walked away.

As the week went on, me and this kid ended up really disliking each other. He was just a general douchebag to me, and so I was just a general douchebag back. And that seemed to confirm what I knew all along: You need to know someone well before you become friends with them. Had I agreed to become friends with this kid on the first day of camp, I would have ended up having a jerk as a friend. And that would have been bad.

For years I used this as a basis for making friends. Ten year old me would wisely tell his peers "You can’t become friends with someone until you know what they’re like. I remember this one time…"

And until this past week, it never once occurred to me that maybe the reason that this kid was a douchebag to me is that I snubbed him on the first day. I mean, we were both new to the camp, and I told him that I didn’t want to be friends with him yet. That’s about as much of a dick move as seven year old me was capable of. I just didn’t realize how much of a dick I was until now. Maybe if I had just said "yes" like a normal seven year old, he wouldn’t have been a douchebag to me at all. Maybe I would’ve had another friend for that week.

I don’t know why this long-buried memory occurred to me all of the sudden this week. It’s not really a significant event in my life.

I guess what strikes me is that for well over a decade I had a completely screwed up perception of this event in my head, while at the same time being completely unaware of the fact that I was wrong. I wonder what else I’m wrong about but don’t know it yet.

I don’t even know if those last two sentences make grammatical sense. I don’t even know if this blog makes sense. Whatever, it’s almost 2:30 now. PUBLISH ENTRY BUTTON!

