One of the comforting things about being dead is looking down upon all the people who remember you fondly. You never really notice it when you’re alive, but once you’re dead it’s easy to see just how many lives you’ve touched.

It goes without saying that your family will remember you for the rest of their lives. My father talks about me everyday to whoever will listen to him, and he still carries a picture of me in his wallet. But he never smiles anymore, which concerns me. Then there’s Susan, the maid who raised me as her own sons. She remembers me fondly as well. I don’t think she’s ever been the same since the accident, though. She seems to have lost that characteristic twinkle in her eye. It saddens me greatly to know that I’ve caused her pain when all she ever gave me was joy. Even my mothers think about me from time to time. They’ve all moved on to other men, and many of them have since had other sons, but it’s comforting to know that they still think of me from time to time.

Close friends can also be counted on to remember you. My best friend in life was a boy named Josh. Actually, he was one of my only friends. When people found out who my father was, they tended to shy away. Not Josh. We were completely inseparable. Out of everyone, I think that he took my death the hardest. He blames himself for the accident since he was the only one who witnessed it. He feels that he could have saved me somehow. All of the trauma has had a really negative effect on his social life, and he’s only starting to recover now after being a complete recluse for so long.

What I find most flattering, however, is how you’re remembered by people who never knew you when you were alive. Josh has made a new friend named Samantha, you see. I’m very happy for him; it’s been a while since he’s spoken to anyone his own age. He rarely speaks to her about me though, since the memories are very painful for him. So imagine my surprise when one night I overheard her asking the simple question: "Who are you, Noah?"

I wish I could answer that question for her. I would love to meet Noah’s new friend. And I would love to visit Susan again and tell her that everything is alright and that I’m doing just fine. And I would love to visit my father and make him smile again, just like I used to.

Correction: I wouldn’t "love" to do any of that. I "need" to do it. I need to see my family and friends again. And I think they need to see me again too. I just need to find a way to make it happen.

I have no idea how to go about accomplishing this feat. I have no idea where to start. But if there’s one thing my father taught me, it’s to never, ever, ever, ever, ever let the world get the best of you. I will see my friends and family again. Just you watch.

Yours truly,
Noah.


