Not.

You know what I love hearing when I’m strapped to a table, having my face torn open by various metal implements?

"Never in my career have I had this problem before."

Oh gee whiz doc, that’s really great.

What was supposed to be a routine half-hour operation ended up being a two and a half hour marathon. I’ve had better evenings, to say the least. Hearing the sound of my cartilage being ripped apart wasn’t very pleasant, nor was the sensation of a steady stream of blood pouring down my cheek.

I’m alive, but I’m going to be fairly useless for the next little while. No sports for six weeks, meaning no road hockey, no golf, no running, no swimming. Normally the restriction on swimming wouldn’t be a problem, but I’m going to Florida with my family in about a month, so it’s an issue.

The good news is that the pain and discomfort aren’t nearly as severe as they were the first time I had this surgery back in March 2008. That was a shitty two weeks. The bad news is that the discomfort and swelling are worse than I expected them to be. I had hoped to be back to my normal routine by this weekend, but it doesn’t look like that’s going to happen. At this rate, I’ll be good to go by Tuesday at the earliest.

That’s life, I guess. It could be better, but it could be a lot worse too. At least it’s over.

