I hope I’m not offending anyone by claiming that life is good. I mean, I haven’t been alive for years now. What do I know about life?

Well, I’ve sat on both sides of the fence of mortality for some time now, and I can tell you from personal experience that being alive is a thousand times better than being dead.

Sure, life is hard. It’s full of disorder, suffering, chaos, and confusion. There is disease. Families are torn apart on a regular basis by divorce. In many parts of the world, people don’t know when or if their next meal is coming. Without a doubt, there are a lot of problems with the world.

In contrast, the afterlife is about as peaceful as it can get. Nothing ever disturbs me. Nothing ever changes here. No one ever leaves my world, and no one ever enters it. There’s no disease here, no suffering, and no death. The laws of physics no longer bind me. I can be anywhere I want to be at any time. I can fly through the clouds or walk on water. I can create life where once there was nothingness.

And in spite of all that, I would give up this existence in a heartbeat to have my life back.

It’s lonely here. I mean, really lonely. Sure, I have you to talk to, but it’s not the same. Please don’t be offended by that. I just mean that being up here and interacting with you isn’t the same as having other living, breathing people around me. But no one else knows that I still exist.

That’s the most frustrating thing. As far as everyone else is concerned, I ceased to exist the moment that car hit me. But I’m still here. I can feel, and think, and move, but no one else knows that. I can see them and hear them, but they can’t see or hear me. If I could just reach out to my old friends and family and let them know that I still exist, I’d be much happier, but I haven’t found a way to do that yet.

I think that maybe I should make solving this problem my first priority from now on. Maybe then I’ll be happy.

