What a fantastic day. It was just one of those days where pretty much everything that could have gone right, did. I won’t go into detail, but I’ll summarize briefly.

I sat down to take my History exam and realized that I had correctly predicted what the essay questions would be, and that my decision to study only 30% of the course material wouldn’t hurt me one bit.

After that, I went to grab a quick bite to eat at the cafeteria, only to run into a certain James character. James is a friend of a friend of mine – we’ve only met a few times, but he’s quite a recognizable character and an overall class act. I was aware that he was at Queen’s, but somehow our paths didn’t cross until literally the final hour of my Queen’s career. But better late than never, I suppose. We had a short conversation before going our separate ways.

Shortly thereafter I bid farewell to Queen’s, hopped on a train, and was off. Two and a half hours later, I arrived in Toronto. A few subway stops later, I ran into Mary, one of my co-workers who I’ll be working with again shortly. So that was cool.

When I arrived at my stop, I ran into three more familiar faces: My elementary school friends. So that was cool too.

After that encounter, I walked another hundred yards or so, only to see another friend, this one from high school. Again, very cool.

Then when I got home, I found a late birthday present on my bed from my aunt and uncle from Guelph. I opened it to find a Team Canada hockey jersey. Upon further inspection, I discovered it to be of the "Authentic" style. In layman’s terms, that’s a $235 dollar jersey. I was in shock. I immediately phoned them to thank them for the awesome gift.

Then I went to my nonna’s for her birthday, and got to see a good deal of my family again, which was fantastic as always.

We’re one day into summer ’10, and already things are looking up. I don’t expect every day to be this great – tomorrow I’m probably going to be told that I need surgery – but if this is a sign of things to come, then I can’t wait to get this summer rolling.

