One of the worst things about going to school in Kingston is that whenever I’m back in Woodbridge, I have to live on a schedule.

I come home on Friday at 6:00 pm, and I leave for Kingston at 6:00 pm on Sunday. In between, I have only 48 hours to use as I please.

But 48 hours isn’t nearly enough time to do everything I want to do. As a result, I find myself planning out my weekend days in advance. On Friday night I’ll see these people, on Saturday night I’ll see these people, on Sunday afternoon I’ll go for a walk with these people.

And I can’t stand doing that. Don’t get me wrong; I love schedules. Life is much easier when people are telling me exactly where I need to be at what time. What I hate is a self-imposed schedule. When I’m forced to plan out my free time, I get grumpy. I don’t like having a game plan when it comes to my free time. I like to make plans five minutes before they happen.

"Hello?"
"Hey. You free?"
"Yeah."
"Wanna go for a walk?"
"Sure."
"Cool. See you in five minutes."

Done.

That’s so much better. But more and more my planning process is looking like this: "Okay, I’ll see so-and-so at 12:00 and leave at 2:00, then I have to head over there and meet with what’s-his-face at 2:30 and leave by 4:00, then I have to go to Yorkdale at 4:30 to meet that woman and leave at 5:30."

It’s a self-imposed schedule on time that shouldn’t have any constraints put on it. Even when I have a full week off, like I do now, there’s still not enough time to see everyone without making elaborate plans.

It’s a self-imposed plan, so theoretically I don’t have to plan out my time. I could just let things happen, like I usually do. But then I’d miss out on seeing people.

All I’m saying is that planned fun isn’t that much fun.

