Something that I think is really undervalued in society today is the art of holding open doors for others.

I’m serious, guys. That’s what this blog is going to be about.

It’s such a simple thing, but doesn’t it make you feel just a bit happier when the person ahead of you pauses to hold open the door for you?

Let me be clear: Pushing the door open as you walk through does not constitute holding the door. In order to qualify as holding the door, your walking motion must cease. In addition, the other person must be allowed to pass you. You need to intentionally delay your own journey by a few seconds in order to speed the other person along.

A lot of us like to be noble, and say things like "I put the happiness of others above my own happiness." Isn’t holding a door open for someone the simplest form of this? And yet it seems to me that a lot of the people who claim to be noble don’t hold doors for others. I don’t have anyone in particular in mind, nor do I have any scientific evidence to back this claim up. I’ve just noticed that a lot of people claim to be noble, and a lot of people don’t hold doors for other people. Mathematically, it’s highly likely, if not certain, that some of the people from group A are also in group B.

It seems to me (again, this is just observation. I don’t have any data to back this up), that people have a certain amount of time that they’re willing to hold a door for. Some people won’t hold it at all, some people will only hold a door if someone is right up their ass, and some people are willing to wait five or six seconds for someone. Obviously it depends on whether or not the person is in a rush and what kind of a mood they’re in, but people do have general tendencies that they follow.

But you know what’s interesting? If you hold a door for someone for five or six seconds, that person is much more likely to hold the next door for whoever is behind them for five or six seconds, regardless of what their tendencies are. 

Door holding. It’s common courtesy. Try it out the next time you’re at your local Building With Doors. 

