For five months or so, I’ve been cursed with some bad fortune. Given the incredible amount of good luck that I had in my last year of high school, I’m in no position to complain about the bad luck I’m having now.I still complain, of course. That’s just my nature. I like to whine and bitch. It’s what writers do best. But I recognize that I’m not justified in doing so.

Anyhow, now we’re approaching the end of January. According to the countdown clock running on my computer that has been continuously counting down the days, hours, minutes, and seconds remaining in the school year since October, today is the 94th last day of school, give or take a few days depending on what my exam schedule turns out to be.

Earlier in the year, when my countdown clock was at 160 days or so, it was hard to be optimistic. 160 days is a long time, after all, and seemingly nothing was going my way.

But now I feel like I’ve hit a turning point. Everything feels like it’s starting to change for the better. There are a couple of things that have contributed to this feeling.

Firstly, the days are getting longer. On Tuesdays and Thursdays my final class of the day ends at 5:30. In December, the sky was pitch-black at that time. But now there’s still some light out, and every day the sun sets a few minutes later. While the tilting of the earth on its axis has absolutely nothing to do with my life, it means that summer is coming, which makes me very happy. As great as winter is, I love warm weather and long hours of daylight even more.

Secondly, I’ve starting curling. Mock the sport all you want, but it’s something that I’ve wanted to try since I was 8 years old, and finally getting to do it has been awesome thus far. Combine that with fencing and ball hockey, and you’ve got five hours of the week where I’m feeling pretty swell.

As well, my schedule for the second term appears to be a lot easier than my schedule for first term. I get a lot more sleep without adding a single hour of classes. As well, the workload for this term appears to be lighter as well. I wrote a total of five essays last term, plus another shorter paper. This term, I’m not taking philosophy, which knocks off two of the essays, and history class this term will only have one essay instead of two, which knocks another one off. I’ll only be writing two essays this term in total. There will be more smaller assignments to do this term, but I’m not losing any sleep over those.

Lastly (and this is huge), remember a few blogs ago when I mentioned John and his plan to go into residence next year? Well, my solution to the problem was to stall for time, so I decided to apply for residence at Queen’s next year with John. That was probably the worst thing I could have done. The results won’t come out until February, at which point I would be forced to tell John that I was going to UofT next year. But by that point, it would be difficult for John to find a suitable living arrangement on his own. Essentially, I could have seriously screwed over a good friend of mine in exchange for putting the problem off for a month. I was seriously concerned about this possibility. But to my great surprise, what ended up happening was probably the best-case scenario.

A few days after I wrote that blog, I happened to see John while on the way back from class. He asked me about residence again, and I replied that going into residence next year sounded like a good idea, but that I “couldn’t give a definite answer one way or the other.”

Half true. Going into residence next year would be a much better option than searching for a house to rent. But I’d already had my definite answer in mind since October. I could have given a definite answer. I just didn’t want to. Mostly because I was afraid of damaging our relationship.

As it turns out, I had absolutely nothing to fear. John told me that he was considering a few options too. One of those options was – wait for it – transferring to UofT.

Can you believe that? I couldn’t at first. I asked him why, and his reasons were similar to mine. At this point I had nothing to fear anymore and I told him that I was considering the same option for the same reasons. I then proceeded to bombard him with pro-UofT arguments that would have made my brother proud.

Nothing is confirmed yet, and there’s still plenty of time for things to go pear-shaped, but it would appear that for the moment John is leaning towards UofT for next year. If he does decide to transfer, then I’ll have the best of both worlds, so to speak. I’ll get to return to the city I lovewithout losing a friend in the process. Plus, this would open up a whole slew of possibilities for next year, such as the possibility of rooming together next year. I fully expected that in order to return to Toronto I would have to forgo the experience of rooming with a close friend and possibly lose a friendship as well. Instead, if this materializes, I’ll get all of the positives and none of the negatives.

Things are slowly starting to click again. It’s a bit reminiscent of the first two weeks of grade twelve, where for whatever reason everything went my way. Am I anywhere near where I was at the start of grade twelve? Hell no. But I can see the comforting light at the end of the tunnel now, and that’s a good start.

