Ah, Saturday. The only day of the week with absolutely no responsibilities from sunrise until sunset. No school, no church, and no homework. Nothing but cartoons and bike rides for twelve glorious hours. The best day of the week, in other words.

But not for Samantha Rollins.

It was one o’clock in the afternoon, meaning that the run of Saturday morning cartoons had ended one hour prior, and that it was now designated bike-riding time. The only issue was that Samantha (or Sammy, as she preferred to be called), had lost her bike one week ago, and as such found herself sitting on her front porch while every kid within a twenty kilometre radius was riding.

Yet Fate acts in mysterious ways, and sometimes the most insignificant events can end up changing one’s life forever.

In Sammy’s case, the insignificant event was that of a boy on a red bicycle riding slowly past her house. Sammy was instantly drawn to attention by this, and she bolted from her front porch in the direction of the boy.

"Hey, that’s my bike!" she shouted at him. The boy came to an immediate halt, clearly surprised by this interruption.

"What?"

"That’s my bike!" Sammy repeated. "You stole it!" What could the boy do, faced with such an accusation, but defend himself?

"I didn’t steal anything." He asserted. "This is my bike."

"But it’s the exact same as my bike!" Sammy maintained.

"It’s mine though."

Sammy had neither the time nor the patience to draw this conversation into a lengthy argument. Saturday was wasting, after all.

"Look, I’ll prove it to you." she said. "My bike has three white marks on the pedal. Move your foot." she commanded. The boy obliged, and Sammy knelt to get a closer look. "See? Right over…"

But Sammy stopped there, for there were no white marks to be found beneath the boy’s foot. Sammy looked up to find the boy staring back with a smug smile.

"I told you it was my bike." he said. Sammy went completely red.

"I’m so sorry," she said, speaking quickly now out of embarrassment. "It’s just that my bike went missing last week and I saw you riding the same one so I thought that you stole it."

"A lot of people have these bikes, you know." said the boy, still looking smug.

"I know, I know, I’m sorry." she said. "I just wasn’t thinking. Forget that this happened."

"Alright," said the boy. He paused for a moment to see if this strange girl had anything else to add. When it was clear that she didn’t, he mounted his bike and added "See you around."

"Yeah," Sammy said, still quite flustered. "See you."

The boy rode off, and Sammy watched him go. When he was out of sight, she turned and went back inside her house.


***

 

I usually don’t write about my own writing process, but I’m going to do so here.

A little over an hour ago, I opened Microsoft Word, and wrote the following sentence: "Take two characters, and give them a problem."

And that’s fiction at its most basic. Give two characters a conflict, and watch them resolve it. So, that’s what I did. I took one girl and one boy, and had them work out the issue of a bike theft. What resulted is a fairly anti-climactic and uninteresting bit of fiction. 

I don’t intend for the story to end here though. And I’ve given myself the ability to go virtually anywhere with these two characters. So, we’ll see. Hopefully the apathy and writer’s block don’t overcome me this time. If they don’t, then I might have just written the beginning of something that will keep me occupied for quite some time.

And otherwise, I’ve at least written a fairly anti-climactic and uninteresting bit of fiction, which in my books is better than nothing at all.

