The title of this blog isn’t an indication of what my mood actually is. Rather, it’s how we’re required to respond whenever an older student asks us how we’re feeling. The "Oh"s must be accompanied by a strong pelvic thrust, of course.

Persecution from the upper classmen increased about tenfold today. Anyone wearing a shirt designating them as a freshman instantly became a target for all sorts of abuse from the older students. Anything from simple taunting to being bombarded by water balloons fired from slingshots at a range of 20 yards was possible.

But in spite of all that, today was a better day. And I think that’s because I spent a decent portion of today with my old high school friends. They’re sort of the difference between the transition I had to make four years ago and the one I’m making now. Four years ago, I entered a new school knowing only one other person. This time around, I have the strength of 15 brothers behind me.

Going into this, I sort of figured that with a total school population of just over 20,000 students, I’d rarely see these old friends of mine. In reality, it’s been impossible to not see them around. I can hardly go a few hours without bumping into one of them. That’s been really good for me.

I can see how this could backfire: Seeing my old friends more might result in me putting less effort into making new friends. I’m hoping that I don’t end up shooting myself in the foot here.

It’s all about finding some sort of balance I guess. I’d be lying if I said that I’ve discovered that balance already, but I’d also be lying if I said that I think that finding that balance is an impossible task. We’ll just have to wait and see.

And in case you haven’t noticed, these blogs are sort of coming fast and furious. University is a new experience, and as such I have a lot on my mind, and a lot to share. For the time being, these rapid updates are going to continue this pace. So, stay tuned. Tomorrow (or later today, technically), I think I’ll have a short psychology lesson, featuring the ever mysterious Sirius Fenris. Until then, enjoy yourselves.

