I’m not a single-minded person.

I mean, I have my beliefs and my goals, but I doubt myself sometimes. Occasionally, something will happen that will make me question my course of action. And, though I’m generally opposed to change, I’m not dumb enough to remain on a path that I know is wrong.

The opposite happens too though. Occasionally, something will happen that will justify me, and thus make me more resolute. One such thing happened a few days ago, and I think that it’s important enough to blog about briefly.

Last year, my locker was beside that of a grade 8 boy named Brian. Brian was just an all-around decent human being. He was polite, he was intelligent, and he was enthusiastic. A fun person to be around.

Anyhow, a few days ago, Brian walked into the store with his mother, and I helped them pick out the uniform items that they needed. At some point, Brian called me by name, and his mom looked at him quizzically and said "Wait, is this Mike from the locker beside you?" Brian nodded.

And she shook my hand and said "It’s great to meet you. Brian has said so much about you."

That’s it. That’s my justification right there. A dozen words. I’m not going to explain why those twelve words made me feel so happy. If you know me well enough, you’ll already understand, and if you don’t, you won’t.

This story doesn’t end here though. It gets better.

The next day, a boy by the name of Graham popped into the room. I had met Graham a few months earlier, as my Destination Imagination team was on the same bus as his. Another all-around decent human being.

Graham’s mother knew Brian’s mother, and clearly the two had spoken overnight, because Graham’s mother said to me: "I understand you’ve written a children’s novel." I confirmed this. She asked me what it was about, and I told her. Then she told me that she has a close friend who works in editing and who knows a lot of publishers and who might be able to help me out. She gave me her number and told me to give her a call.

And just like that, another opportunity to become a published author has landed on my desk.

I respect people younger than me. I really think that I’m right to do so.

